3 Days

3 days. 3 days. 3 DAYS?!!

The nerves are definitely kicking in now!

Having ticked off most of the important things on my ‘to do’ list I do feel more reassured than I did few weeks ago, but that doesn’t stop me from feeling massively nervous about going. I feel that September has come around a bit too quickly for my liking. I’m a bit apprehensive about how I’m going to deal with living alone in a place I don’t know, and it doesn’t help being used to having a house full of people at home as well as at uni. Hopefully the (ridiculous) amount of paperwork I have to do in the first few days in order to get an Italian sim card, internet and open a bank account will keep me busy – leaving me with less time to think about home.

So these last few days here in England are going to be filled with last-minute shopping, and lots of goodbyes (and hopefully very few tears!). I think goodbyes are going to be the worst thing. Meeting up with my friends for the last time before I go seems scary and sad. This is when things get real. I keep telling myself that it will be as if I was going away to uni, and that time will soon fly by – and that does make me feel lots better. But I knew if that didn’t cheer me up it’s just as well that me and a friend went out for lunch, as this selection of desserts at Red Hot World Buffet would definitely/ and did cheer me up!

Another task which I am dreading is the packing. Being used to packing everything I needed for uni in the car to having just one suitcase is a shock to the system. These are the times when I actually go from ‘having no clothes’ to ‘having too many’. I don’t know where to start! I have been contemplating packing all day but I’ve made little/no progress. I think it’s going to be one of those…”Oh I’ll do it tomorrow”…which undoubtedly means I’ll do it at the last possible minute.

Do you think I’ll get away with taking her with me?

Something which I am really looking forward to is the British Council induction course which is being held in Rome. I recently booked my train tickets to Rome which ended up being a lot cheaper than flying which was my initial choice. It’s probably because it takes 4 hours and I have to change trains 4/5 times which is quite daunting. I’m not very good with trains and I have manged to get on the wrong trains here in England, nevermind abroad! Just hope everything is straight forward!  I’ve heard that trains in Italy are good though so that’s comforting! A few of us have booked at the same hostel, which is right in the city centre and near the train station (so hopefully I won’t get lost!) and we’re arriving 2 days before the induction in order to explore Rome which I am very excited about! It’ll be a nice opportunity to meet the other assistants as well as catch up with the assistants from my course at uni.

So a lot will be happening in the next few weeks including moving to Martina Franca, visiting Rome and starting work early October. Hopefully I will have a lot to write about in the next few blog posts! This is probably going to be  my last blog post from England as scary as that sounds! Scary and exciting at the same time.

There are so many people and things that I am going to miss back in England, however there is one thing I am not going to miss at all – the English weather. Goodbye rain, Hello sun!

Ivy x

Leave a Reply

